cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Please give some data points..credit limit/income..

tag
CreditMagic7
Mega Contributor

Re: Please give some data points..credit limit/income..

In all the time i've built and grown my own profile from scraps (SCT=Vicky Secret/Fingerhut/ etc) i am still no expert on it by any stretch, and still learning which i think is a great long term lesson for everyone that really never ends. The variables are everything as already mentioned above but so many factors go into it. and depending on your personal preference of lender that produces good reasonable results for your situation, the biggest help is constant study over time.

Like others, i seen mid 600 FICO scores and even dragging around a collection or two on occasion approved for more than i could muster from some lenders with a clean file and high lines.

Whoever said that it's a marathon and not a sprint hits it right on the spot. For me it's the time element of regular usage/PIF etc. even aside from the income equation. You have to LEARN the habits from them just as much as they measure the habits of our spend & payments IMO,

Message 11 of 62
Kforce
Valued Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:
Why lock at 20k? Potential identity theft?

Reason is just personal preference, financial profile, and the way I use and pay cards.

I do not need more for utilization, or large purchases.

I am financially at a point where I have no need to use a CC for a BT, low APR loan or extended travel.

I feel having extremely large revolving CL's is not necessary or prudent for me.

Many CC users have or might need a low APR card for short term loan or a card for BT offers.

In both situations a card with large CL's and overall large CL's would be desirable.

Many travel for weeks and between air, hotel, car rental, wife & kids spending, etc might also need large CL's

Everyone's spend, type of cards, payment time frame, use, financial profile, etc is different.