cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Please give some data points..credit limit/income..

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Please give some data points..credit limit/income..

Income and spend are the most important as long as you have a reasonable file. My starting limits with most cards are 35-50 and go up from there. Income >250k, annual CC spend > 250k FICOs 800-815.
Message 41 of 62
brandon1767
Established Member

I think income becomes more of a factor to obtain really high limits (above $20k). I am a student with a part-time income (15k-18k) depending on the year. Part of my income is self-employed and some through an employer. I was approved for a 25k biz card from Amex with less than 1 year of credit history and that income. It helps that I spend a lot on my personal cards (and now my biz card) for my job and I get reimbursed for it. Spent about $1,500 over the last couple month for clients. I know that's not a lot for a business, but for someone working out of their dorm room, it helps keep me appealing towards lenders.  Business cards also tend to have higher limits. I don't think I will be getting a 25k limit on any of my personal cards anytime soon (at least until my income increases). 

Banking with: Ally Bank (Savings), NFCU (Credit), and US Bank (Biz and Personal Checking)
Started August 2018 (No Credit History)
FICO 8 (11/01/2021): EX 791, TU 800 | FICO 9 (11/01/2021): EQ 821
Message 42 of 62
FinStar
Moderator Emeritus

@black_citi wrote:
Only card I know that DOES care about income is the AMEX centurion or black card as we know it. I've heard that you have to give amex monthly bank statements to show what your income is even AFTER you've gotten the card. If your income isn't high enough (amex determines that) they will cancel the card.

What is the source?  As that is really not accurate.  By and large, AmEx doesn't have such a monthly requirement to sustain having the Centurion card. 

Message 43 of 62
Anonymous