Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Please recommend a card

tag
angelzrfree
New Contributor

Please recommend a card

Hello myFico forum,

First of all I want to say thank you in advance for any suggestions and for taking time to help me to out. I'm a 20 year old college student and I am trying to get my credit on track. I am trying to get a new credit card but, as you all know, it's not easy. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. My Fico score with Equifax is a 630. I'm a full-time college student, I have a full-time job at the local hospital and I make decent money for someone my age. At this point I am not too picky about the corporation that I do business with, as long as it's not BOA or Citi. I applied at BOA in January and they said no (I have a past delinquency with them and that's why my CS is low). I applied at Citi around the same time and I have come to believe that they are the devil and would never, not even upon threat of death, attempt to business with them. So where should I go from here? Where should I apply? Should I forget about CCs altogether and apply for store credit?

Again, Thanks in advance for any replies.

Message Edited by angelzrfree on 04-02-2009 01:07 PM
Hey look ma! I’m finally in the 700 club.

March 2020 - (EX) 730 (EQ) 707 (TU) 702

January 2023 - (EX) 772 (EQ) 789 (TU) 789
Message 1 of 8
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Please recommend a card

Credit Unions are a good place to establish yourself and begin building a relationship that will see you as a person more so.
Message 2 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Credit Unions are a good place to establish yourself and begin building a relationship that will see you as a person more so.
Message 2 of 8
angelzrfree
New Contributor

Would it be best if I opened a checking or savings account with them and then applied? Thanks for the suggestion.

Message 3 of 8
Woolfman
Established Contributor