Did you mean: 

Pros and Cons to balance transfers

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Pros and Cons to balance transfers

I've got a question regarding a balance transfer:

I currently have 3 Cap1 cards:

#1 Capital One Platinum with $49 annual fee and I'm currently being charged $11.30/mo as an interest charge. 563/600

#2 Captail One Platinum with NO annual fee and NO interest. 32/500

#3Capital One Quick Silver One with $49 annual fee and no interest for the first year. 0/500

Would it be smart to transfer some, if not all of my balance from #1 to #2? What are the pros and cons of doing a balance transfer? Would it eliminate my interest charges? 

Thank you! I'm sort of a dummy when it comes to credit because I'm still learning.

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
CH-7-Mission-Accomplished
Valued Contributor

Re: Pros and Cons to balance transfers

Tne annual fees aren't really relevant to the interest you are paying.  You either think those cards are worth a fee or not.

You can't balance transfer balances between cards from the same issuer, however.  So Cap 1 cards would have to BT to a different lender offering 0%.

But you are always better off paying 0% interest!   You do have to take into account the typical 3% balance transfer fees.

Message 2 of 7
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Bottom line is that they are banking on statistics that show they will make more $ by doing a BT than not.

Certainly, that is not true in all cases, but on the average, it is true.

Thus, you must do something abnormal to "beat" the BT game.

First, the up-front BT fee of 3-4% immediately represents approx two months of normal "interest."

Thus, a 12-month introductory period at 0% APR is actually only about a 10 month period, factoring in the BT fee.