cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question about credit cards and collections?

tag
jwp32750
New Visitor

Question about credit cards and collections?

I am a small business owner that is trying to get along presently. Though I am trying to satisfy everyone who wants to be paid, there isn't enough money to satisfy everyone right now. I have worked with several of my creditors to establish payment programs in an effort to satisfy my debt. For those that I am in arrears with, they are saying things such as "once your account goes to collections, we won't be able to establish any type of payment program with you." How true is this statement? I realize that the people at the call centers makes their bonuses by "closing the deal" in their collection call, but with the ever growing threat of people filing for bankruptcy, wouldn't they want to receive something rather than nothing at all?

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
iwantbettercredit
Regular Contributor

Re: Question about credit cards and collections?

In the real world that is not the way it works.  There is no logic when it comes to being late on credit. such as they add late fees and over the limit fees that can triple your minimum payment. It is just like insurance companies when they would rather risl having to pay for cancer treatment as opposed to paying for preventative care (How stupid is that!) Anyway, if you want your business and you need their business in order for your business to survive then they need you to pay them because your business does them no go if you dont pay their bill.  "They will simply put you on the cash basis terms" or cut you off completely.
Navy Fed Visa $10,000
Navy Fed MasterCard $3,500
Pen Fed Visa $7500
Discover $3,200
Message 2 of 6
iwantbettercredit
Regular Contributor

In a nut shell they really do not care if you go out of business as long as they get their money, and they will get it one way or another.
Navy Fed Visa $10,000