cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Questions about Capital One Platinum Card (Unsecured)

tag
WarJar101
Frequent Contributor

Questions about Capital One Platinum Card (Unsecured)

This is my first line of credit ever. I'm a college student trying to build some credit history.  My CL is $500, no annual fees for the first year, 19$ dollars after that.

1. I want to know with Capital One, should I leave a revolving balance of <%9 utilization until the statement posts or just pay it in full right after I use, to build up my scores quickly? (Remember this is my first card)

2. Do they still report your highest balance as your credit limit?

3. Over this next year, while I'm trying to build a good credit history, what are some of the easiest ways for me to keep tabs on Capital One? (Just to make sure everything is going smoothly and there's no funny business.)

4.  With Capital One in particular, is it safe to charge more than 9% utilization or can I utilize whatever amount I want and be safe as long as I pay it off before the statement generates?

I plan on closing this card as soon as I get approved for a prime lender in the near future, I know it will affect my AAoA, but rather have it in my sockdrawer. Thanks ahead of time for the answers guys!

Rebuilding...been out of the game for a minute. Now, after suffering I'm back with greater wisdom. Scores: Currently @ around 6 teens to 20's, across all three EQ,TU, EX
Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
jsucool76
Super Contributor

Re: Questions about Capital One Platinum Card (Unsecured)

@WarJar101 wrote:

This is my first line of credit ever. I'm a college student trying to build some credit history.  My CL is $500, no annual fees for the first year, 19$ dollars after that.

1. I want to know with Capital One, should I leave a revolving balance of <%9 utilization until the statement posts or just pay it in full right after I use, to build up my scores quickly? (Remember this is my first card)