cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Questions regarding the Amex blacklist

tag
jenb22

Questions regarding the Amex blacklist

Hi Jen and welcome to the forums. I've split your post off to start a new thread. All I changed is the title - MarineVietVet, myFICO moderator

Hey Everyone! I am a newbie here as well and had a couple questions regarding the Amex blacklist. In college (don't most of the stories start this way), I got a bit over my head in credit cards and Amex blue was one of them I defaulted on. I had to file bankruptcy years later, and my amex was put into the bankruptcy. Fast forward, I now own my own home, nice cars, great job 200k+ and am finally in a much better place than I used to be. I was scared to apply for another Amex despite really wanting to be back in their good graces. My mom has great credit and signed up for a card and put me as the additional cardholder. To my surprise, the amex green she was approved for had my member date as 2012. When we got the amex platinum today, my member since is 01, which was when I originally had my american express. Is this going to help my credit significantly due to backdating? And, does this mean I am no longer on their blacklist? I am afraid to call and ask, am just excited to have this beautiful card!

Thanks for any help !

Starting Score: 657
Current Score: TU 651 EX ?? EQ 657
Goal Score: 730 Across the Board

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge

Message 1 of 18
17 REPLIES 17
Crashem
Valued Contributor

Re: Questions regarding the Amex blacklist

A little mixed up as you said your mom got Amex green and added you as additional user as Amex plat. In any case, if you were able to be added as Amex au, then you aren't on their blacklist anymore. Doesn't mean you will get one of your own, but if your fico looks good, you can apply.
               LIMITS IN CARD DESCRIPTIONS
Message 2 of 18
pizzadude
Credit Mentor