cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rate-jacked by Citibank. What to do?

Lugnut

Rate-jacked by Citibank. What to do?

Hi Guys,

I'm a newbie to the board although I've been lurking for a few weeks.  Improving my credit has been a top priority of mine during the past year, but I've been trying to figure it out on my own.  Only recently did I think to search the internet for a "support group" and boy am I glad I did.  Just lurking for the past few weeks I've learned more than I did all year!  I've got a million different questions but I'm going to start out with the most pressing first.

I'm self employed so cash flow is often a problem when my customers drag their feet paying their bills, and late last year I found myself getting behind on two different Citibank credit cards that I had.  Not knowing any better (and truthfully being ashamed to call and talk to anybody) I let myself get over 90 days behind before I made the call.  The lady that I spoke with was very polite and civil (which was a huge surprise to me!) and she set me up on a automatic deduction plan for 9 months to help me get current and pay down the balance.  The terms to which I agreed were that my interest rate would be lowered to 8% and remain there after the 9 months was up as long as I continued to make my payments on time.  Also, both accounts were to be closed once they were paid in full which I didn't really like, but I didn't feel like I had any room to bargain.