Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rebuilding Credit! CC Help!

tag
crimsondiva26
Established Member

Rebuilding Credit! CC Help!

Hi All!

I am a 25 year old teacher and for the past year I have been attempting to rebuild my credit! When I was in college, I did some foolish things and got behind on a First Premier Bank card (insert groan)! My credit score was at about 614 towards the end of 2013 and it is currently at 653. I have been working really hard to pay off any balances that I owe on my CC's. I make okay money (about $44,500 a year), so I am trying to pay off any baddies that I have on my credit. 

I currently have a Credit One Bank card with a CL of $750.00, a Capital One Platinum with a CL of $750.00, and a department store CC with a CL of $650.00. I recently got approved for an American Express Green Card with NPSL. I don't want to have so many CC's open, so I was wondering should I close 1 or 2 out and which ones should I close out? OR should I just keep all of them open with a balance of 0 and primarily use my AMEX.

I am interested in buying a house around this time next year, so I am trying to make the best decisions that will help my credit score go up!

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! 

Thanks!

AMEX Green: NPSL | Chase Freedom: $3.2K | Walmart: $2.4K | Old Navy: $1.9K | Torrid CC: $1.8K | Capital One Quicksilver $1.5K | Credit One CC: $950 | Capital One Platinum CC: $750 |

Current Credit Scores: Experian: 707 | Equifax: 669 | Transunion: 693
Goal Credit Score: 750 or higher in ALL
Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
DevotionToU
Regular Contributor

Re: Rebuilding Credit! CC Help!

If they have no AF's, there's really no reason to close them.  Just sock drawer them and let them keep showing a good payment history (use them every once in a while).

$18000 Discover IT / $6000 Chase Freedom / $5000 DCU Visa / $3900 Fifth Third / $2500 Capital One Quicksilver / $2000 AMEX Blue Cash Everyday / $500 Chase Slate
Message 2 of 11
parakleet