Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

(Recent)Student cards

tag
nothingman02
Valued Contributor

(Recent)Student cards

I was wondering, Are there any CCs for students with bad credit? Is it easier for students to get CCs?

I was a student in Grad School until the summer of 2008. Would I still qualify? I mean would the CCCs verify student status?

I was going through my old documents and stuff and whoa! I found a Discover pre approval letter from 2007!!! Im amazed that I never bothered with it. I would kill for that pre-approval now!

-------------------------------------------------------------------

FICOS - EQ-576 / TU602

2 derogs  - a charged off CC and its CA

2 good but subprime CCs from Jan 2009.

1 closed but good standing Citi card.

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
Creditaddict
Legendary Contributor

Re: (Recent)Student cards

How old is the closed Citi card in your sigi? I would call them and ask to reinstate!
Message 2 of 10
nothingman02
Valued Contributor

Naah! The CITI was a delinquent card and I settled with them in 2005 after they closed the card after 180 days late. I GWed them last month and they obliged and hence the good standing w.r.t the account. They did leave out the last two lates on EXP though and I have to GW them again for that. Nevertheless, I cant app or recon them I am positive. I plan to app when my scores hit 700. Right now I am sitting at 569/602.
Message 3 of 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

i would suggest a secured card at this point.  You want to begin aging some "good credit" history while you clean up the old.  Bank of America, Amalgamated Bank of Chicago and other prime banks offer them.  Also, a Credit Union may have a secured program as well, and you can speak to a real person with lending authority and discuss your personal circumstances and goals rather than just being an number and score in a system.
Message 4 of 10
nothingman02
Valued Contributor