cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Recently Turned 18, looking for my best options for a credit card!

tag
NEWKID11084

Recently Turned 18, looking for my best options for a credit card!

Hey everyone!

I recently turned 18, and have been an AU on family members cards for almost about a year, and have Fico 8 scores@ EQ-683 EX-733 TU-702. I am a college student and I have family support to pay the monthly payment, I am curious what cards or card would be best, as I am trying to reach the 800s by the end of the year! Thanks so much in advance for your input and recommendations!

12 REPLIES 12
RSX
Valued Contributor

Re: Recently Turned 18, looking for my best options for a credit card!

welcome!

i would try for a Cap1 or Discover card to start you off

good luck on your credit progress!

Dec 16/2019. EX. 721. EQ. 723. TU 746
Jan 25/2024 EX. 774 EQ. 751 TU 758
Inq. EX 2 EQ 3 TU 6 - - CC 2x24, 0x12
Amex BCP $35k - Apple GS $21k - BMW/Elan $19k - Cap1 QS $16.7k - Chase Amazon $13.6k - Chase Bonvoy Bountiful $10k - Chase United Club Infinite $26k - Citi CustomCash $3k - Citi DC $14.5k - CreditUnion1 $9k - DiscoverIT $31.5k - PayBoo - $15.6k - Penfed Gold - $19.3k - USB AltitudeGO -$19k- USBank Cash+ -$25k - PenFed LOC - $20k - USB LOC - $15k
Message 2 of 13
JNA1
Valued Contributor

Disco all the way. My daughter turned 18 in June, and like you, she had been an AU on a couple of my cards for over a year. They gave her the Student Cash back card, $1500 unsecured starting line. It has the same cash back structure as the regular Discover It card. 

I imagine she might have got a $300-$500 limit card through Cap 1 that would likely never grow much, based on others experience. 

You can do a prequalification on Disco's site with no damage to your credit score. Their prequals are pretty solid if you get prequalified. 

Our credit card journey started 3/2018