cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Recently Turned 18, looking for my best options for a credit card!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Recently Turned 18, looking for my best options for a credit card!

@NEWKID11084 wrote:

Hey everyone!

I recently turned 18, and have been an AU on family members cards for almost about a year, and have Fico 8 scores@ EQ-683 EX-733 TU-702. I am a college student and I have family support to pay the monthly payment, I am curious what cards or card would be best, as I am trying to reach the 800s by the end of the year! Thanks so much in advance for your input and recommendations!

You say that you have family support to pay the monthly payment.. Yes, credit card companies always want their money back regardless of who pays it, but when it comes to extending credit then they don't lend based on someone's support/income, rather it would be based on your ability to pay back..

Do you have any kind of income? If you have no income whatsoever, it would be extremely difficult to get a credit card in your own name unless you want to get a card with $200 or $300 CL. My college-going 18 yrs old gf works part-time at her college campus..She applied for a Chase Freedom two months ago and got approved for $5700 SL at branch. She has an account with Chase for a while, I guess. If I were you, I would apply for a credit card only when I start working for a while. And not to disappoint you, but achieving 800 score is kinda impossible for any 18 yrs old because length of accounts is also one of the factors that contributes towards scoring which is impossible for a 18 yrs old.