cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reporting Income Question

tag
Temporary_me

Reporting Income Question

I had a quick question about reporting income on an application. While currently I am in my last semester of college and my yearly income between scholarships and my last summer internship total ~$40k, however, I have an accepted employment offer for significantly more. I'm wanting to apply for a travel card for the month or so I'm taking off before beginning work and will be overseas.

Would it be acceptable to report my accepted job offer as my income on the application? I only ask because I'm trying to get approved for a World MasterCard ($5k limit) and fear this wouldn't happen if I reported $40k. Seems a bit silly to miss out on the WMC because I need the card a month before my start date. Never the less I don't want to enter too much of a grey area of legitimacy on an application. My concern would be proof of income, all of which I'd have is my previous internship pay stubs, scholarship documentation and an offer letter for employment.

Thoughts? Thanks!

FICO: 763 (Discover Statement March 2015)
Barclay Arrival (no fee) - $6,300
Discover Open Road - $2,500
Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
grinlikechelsea
Established Contributor

Re: Reporting Income Question

Whatever you can document, you can report. And just for a data point, I have gotten approved for Visa Signatures and World Mastercards when I was reporting a $35,000 income as a student. Smiley Happy

Message 2 of 4
enharu
Super Contributor

@Temporary_me wrote:

I had a quick question about reporting income on an application. While currently I am in my last semester of college and my yearly income between scholarships and my last summer internship total ~$40k, however, I have an accepted employment offer for significantly more. I'm wanting to apply for a travel card for the month or so I'm taking off before beginning work and will be overseas.