Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sam's Club Consumer Credit Approval

tag
Nstark
Established Member

Sam's Club Consumer Credit Approval

This is my first time posting on these forums, but I thought this would be something worthy of posting to help others.

My background:

- Junior in college

-9K Deffered Student Loans

-Cap One Secured $225 Opened 8/11

-Cap One Journey Visa $750 Opened 11/11

-Citi Forward $1200 Opened 4/12

Had extra low utilization report this month. Ordered my TU Fico on 10/8 and it was 690.

Sam's Club has a $20 off promotion going on if you're approved for either their discover or consumer credit card instore during the month of October. I shop their quite a bit for business and personal purposes so I decided to give it a try yesterday.

I was a bit disappointed that I had to choose between one card or the other as I know at other GE backed retail stores they consider you first for the Discover or Mastercard then if you don't qualify they consider you for the private label card. Apparently that's not the case at Sam's Club. :/

I didn't think I would get approved for the Discover so I chose to apply for the regular consumer credit card. Just a few seconds later to my surprise, I was approved for that with an $1800 CL. I was shocked at the amount of the CL as it's my highest so far and from what I read GE usually starts out real low and then multiplies as the card gets older.

I wonder now if I would have been approved for the discover card since I got so high of a starting CL (well it's high to me being a student and only 20). Of course the person who ran the application through had to tell me, in her experience more people get approved for the discover than the regular card after I was approved. Either way i'm satisfied and still kind of shocked.

I'm glad to have my first GE card though. Hopefully they are as good to me as most of you.