Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sapphire Reserve or Altitude Reserve?

tag
chrisw1968uk
Frequent Contributor

Sapphire Reserve or Altitude Reserve?

Hi Everyone

I'm considering applying for either of these cards - The $325 credit for dining will go a long way towards wiping off the fee for the Altitude and I am just getting into mobile wallets (I know, I'm late lol) so the 3% back on that would be useful too.

I don't do a whole bunch of flying - but any perks there would be nice, when I do

Any preferences?

Thanks Smiley Wink 

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
longtimelurker
Epic Contributor

Re: Sapphire Reserve or Altitude Reserve?

@chrisw1968uk wrote:

Hi Everyone

I'm considering applying for either of these cards - The $325 credit for dining will go a long way towards wiping off the fee for the Altitude and I am just getting into mobile wallets (I know, I'm late lol) so the 3% back on that would be useful too.

I don't do a whole bunch of flying - but any perks there would be nice, when I do

Any preferences?

Thanks Smiley Wink 

I have both and they are really quite different cards.   Sapphire Reserve is a true travel card, with the ability to transfer points to airline/hotel partners, which can give good value on higher end travel.   It also has (currently) a lot of insurance protections and a good Priority Pass program.   It also can enhance the value of points earned on other UR cards such as Freedom Flex and Freedom Unlimited (through Pay Yourself Back) and points earned on those cards can also be transferred to partners via the CSR.   CSR definition of travel (to earn the 3x) is MUCH broader than the Altitude Reserve