Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Seeking Advice on Adding Cards to Boost Credit Score

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Seeking Advice on Adding Cards to Boost Credit Score

I recently posted in the General Credit section seeking advice on increasing my credit score. One bit of advice I received was that I could potentially up my total credit card accounts to 3-4 to boost my overall total number of accounts. It was also recommended to me to bring that discussion here since this is where all the CC experts are.

I currently have an Equifax FICO score of 705. I have 4 open credit accounts, 1 student loan ($4k left), 1 auto loan ($20k, 0% interest) and 2 credit cards. My CCs are a Capital One Orbitz card with a $1k limit that was my first card and I only keep around for when a merchant doesn't accept Amex. My second card is the American Express Blue Card with a $2k limit which I have been using for all my purchases for the past 10 months. I do about $1k-$1.2k worth of transactions on the Amex, so that gets me up to the 1.25%/5% reward zone for a little over half the year.

I am at approximately 70% of my CC utilization since I was under the impression that I was supposed to be carrying a balance to boost my credit score (and the Amex is still at 0% APR until next February) but I have since learned that I should be keeping my CC utilization under 10% so I will be paying that off promptly. Don't know if that's relevant or not, but I thought I'd include it to be thorough.

Basically, I am wondering if I should add a 3rd or 4th credit card to my wallet to boost my total number of accounts, even if I only use them once every three months to keep them open on my credit report. A higher overall credit limit would make my life a bit easier in terms of keeping my utilization under 10% since I currently have to pay off my account about twice a week to keep it that low with my current $3k total credit limit.