cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I apply for card now or after graduation and employment?

tag
mazinaige
Regular Contributor

Should I apply for card now or after graduation and employment?

I am planning to graduate with a doctoral degree from a Canadian university in June 2009. Upon coming to Canada eight years ago I cancelled my US credit cards however I still see the accounts on my US credit report. As of October 2008, it reports 16 years 7 months clean history. No lates or baddies. The only negative remark made was that I do not have any current revolving accounts. Should I apply for a credit card now while I am an unemployed graduate student in Canada or should I wait until I find employment?

My second question is: What would be the best card for me? I read on another thread called OLD AMEX GOLD that 'Ohboy' was able to apply for a new Amex card and have it backdated to 1984. My old AMEX is still showing on my report as a member since 1991 so I am wondering if AMEX would be the best place to start my new card search?

Message Edited by mazinaige on 11-08-2008 09:26 PM

FICO® TU: 703 8/07/2015, EQ: 716 8/07/2015
Message 1 of 14
13 REPLIES 13
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Should I apply for card now or after graduation and employment?

I am not certain on the issues of applying for credit while in another country. (Still US citizen, but wouldn't you need to be residing here with a US address in which to apply?)

Amex has been backdating accounts for those who they can find in the system via their social security numbers or the account number if you have it.

Congrats on your upcoming graduation!

Message 2 of 14
mazinaige
Regular Contributor