cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I apply for new credit now or wait?

tag
anderl
Frequent Contributor

Should I apply for new credit now or wait?

• Hello to all- I am new to Fico Forums and have been reading a lot of posts/info that I'm finding very helpful. I was wondering if i could get some advice as what my next step should be. Currently my scores are-EX 655,FICO-EQ 662, and FICO- TU 683 (all up from 500's 3 months ago). I have 0 collections, 2 PAID delinquint accts.(from 3yrs. ago),1 PAID tax lein(from 4 yrs. ago), and 1 PAID judgement(from 5 yrs.ago). I know that all the negatives(PAID) will become weaker as they age and eventually fall off. I have not used a cc for the past 6/7 yrs. due to the fact that I became unemployed,got behind, and things began to spiral out of control. But today I am DEBT-FREE and am rebuilding my credit with a secured Visa($500)  and low-limit($250), unsecured cc.My questions now are: Should I apply for another cc(unsecured) to increase my available credit and when to apply(since my secured and non-secured lines of credit are only 2 months old)- Any idea of which credit card is good based on my scores? Also is it correct that I should be using as much of available credit as possible and to pay it down to a balance around 7/8% every month?
Amex Platinum Charge(NPSL); Starwood Amex Preferred CC(20K CL); Diners Club ELITE MC(20K);Diners Club Premier MC(20K,could've sworn the rep said 25k, oh well lol);Delta Amex Reserve CC(21K CL); Amex PRG Charge(NPSL); United Presidential Plus Chase World Elite MC (15K CL); AARP Chase Visa Signature(35K CL); NFCU Visa Platinum(20K CL) NFCU LOC(15K); NFCU Go Rewards MC(17.5K); Disover IT 7.8K;
First Tech Federal Visa Platinum(15K CL); Simmons First Visa Platinum(9K CL); Wells Fargo Visa Platinum(7.5K CL); CitiBank Sears MC(6K CL); JCPenney Card(7.5K CL); Lowes(2.5K CL);Barclays Mile & More Lufthansa 12.5K.
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable