cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I keep the Spiegel Card or Close it?

tag
Red1Blue
Super Contributor

Should I keep the Spiegel Card or Close it?

I got spiegel card some time around Nov last year. I am not using it as there are no stores around here. Should I just close or leave it alone? I dont want them to close it on my due to inactivity and make it look bad on my CR. I would rather close it ahead of time. What do you think? Should I send it to chopping block or keep it?
Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Should I keep the Spiegel Card or Close it?

Hey there concord! I am a relative newbie, so I do not have a lot of experience.

However, I have been slowly closing cards that are either, not of any use to me, or are low limit cards that I will not use.

My Fico went up 14 points this month, nothing aged over a year, util stayed the same, no inqs fell off. The only change I can see is the four cards I have closed. Before closing the cards though I do a util picture mentally. If I can close the cards and still keep util low I do it! I PIF every month but I let stuff report.....

You have so many credit options from what I have read, that sometimes we can see the things we truly do not need and get rid of them without a negative impact.

This is just MHO, but if it is not serving a purpose for you I say CLOSE that sucker!
Message 2 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

I'm wrestling with the same dilemma on a QVC card. I think I'm going to close it when the timing's right.
Message 3 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous wrote:
I'm wrestling with the same dilemma on a QVC card. I think I'm going to close it when the timing's right.

I think the timing thing is VERY important! It felt good to get rid of my blah stuff, and less to track. Good luck Sylvia!
Message 4 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable