Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I wait or ask now for CLI?

tag
jpschroe37
Established Member

Should I wait or ask now for CLI?

Newbie here, so bear with me. I haven't had a CLI on my Chase freedom ($1,500 CL) or Capital One ($1,750 CL) Platinum for over a year, so I was thinking of letting them do a hard pull on my account to get the CLI. Now, I have a bad mark on my credit report for a collection that is due to come off my credit report in May of this year. I also just took out a $10k auto loan last week for a new car (no payments made on the loan yet). My history is relatively new. The CapOne is my oldest card at 3 years. But the credit score for my auto loan was 781 out of 880 on equifax and I got  a 2.99% rate for a used car (to me that signals good credit). Heck, I even got a new job with a 10,000 raise last year. I pay off the Credit card each month in full haven't missed payments with them. And the usage is around 30% usually. Should I let them do a hard pull now, or wait till after May? Is there any alternative to having them do a hard pull? Also, should I concern myself with hard pulls on my credit report (from the loan and possible CLI... I don't anticipage more anytime soon)? I am just confused and frustrated with the low credit limits. Would like an increase to have something where my usage shows under 20% for when I look to buy a house. Thanks for the help. 

Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
09Lexie
Moderator Emerita

Re: Should I wait or ask now for CLI?

Message 2 of 12
jamesdwi
Valued Contributor