Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Simple girl in this crazy credit world!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Simple girl in this crazy credit world!

Hello forums. I'm here to gain knowledge about credit and personal finance in general. To give some background, I was born in Chicago, raised down south. I wasn't taught anything about credit growing up. I made the usual mistakes - credit cards, student loans, ect. I had a card my parents gave me, whenever I couldn't make a payment they would always take care of it so it wasn't all bad.

In 2016 my financial situation changed dramatically as I had become a business owner. (kudos to anyone who can guess my business tehe) I was able to pay off all my debt (including those nasty school loans) but still I knew nothing about credit and didn't plan to but being a business owner I found it impossible to get any type of trade lines/loans without someone wanting to run my credit so last month I finally took a look at my scores.

Currently my scores are: Equifax - 730, Transunion - 745, Experian - 720. Ive been told my scores are good, but my file is "thin" my average years of credit is 2 years. I made the huge mistake of canceling some of my cards because I wasn't using them. Smiley Sad I also have a couple of cards that were charged off and closed. Other than that my report is clean. Right now I don't know what to do or what cards to apply for. should I be applying for business cards or personal? Will proof of income come into play? My last W2 came in 2016, I earned 40k. I haven't filed my business taxes yet, but I will net about 137k for 2016.

So when doing apps should I reference what's on my last W2? I'm soooo confused. I just want to make the best choices and not get bad cards. Sorry for the long post, i just wanted to provide enough details to hopefully get a response, so lucky to have found you guys. Happy New Years!

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
nachoslibres
Established Contributor