Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Starting out!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Starting out!

Everyone's posts have been so helpful. I just received an email from CITI and Cap1.. I am trying to recon with CITI for their student CC. Any idea how to approach a recon? 

Message 51 of 57
jsucool76
Super Contributor

Read over the reasons they gave you for denial, then check the backdoor # thread and call em up and be prepared to defend your credit history. 

Message 52 of 57
jamie123
Valued Contributor

Call them and ask about the status of your application. "Do they need more information?"

Make sure you "Let the sunshine in during this conversation!"

Tell them, "I am just starting out and want to develop a GREAT relationship with a GOOD bank that will grow with me! I've heard so many good things about CitiBank I thought I should apply with you first!"

Yeah...Lay it on heavy....It can't hurt!

This is one of those chicken and egg quandaries you occasionally will deal with in life. They are lenders that need customers, you are a customer that needs their money. Who blinks first?

If you do get denied, make sure you ask why and receive a firm answer. Ask when you should re-apply.

Starting Score: EQ 653 6/21/12
Current Score: EQ 817 3/10/20 - EX 820 3/13/20 - TU 825 3/03/20
Message 53 of 57
iMacDrew
Frequent Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

Hello Everyone!

I am posting for the first time on this forum. I have been reading several posts that are actually insightful and note-worthy! I have just turned 18 and honestly I have learned a lot just by reading a lot of the material provided by myFico and the wonderful poster community. And I took a class offered by our local bank branch on credit responsibility >.<