cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Student Citi Forward vs Regular Citi Forward?

tag
NewSurrender
Contributor

Student Citi Forward vs Regular Citi Forward?

I'm wondering what the difference in credit limits between the student version of the Forward and the regular non-student Forward card?

I'm a college student and my income is only 17K-ish, so I was wondering which one I should apply for. My friend was recently approved for a $2,500 student Forward, when his only other card was a $300 secured BoA card, so it makes me wonder what I'd get approved for since my highest limit is $4,000. His income is 20K, not much of a difference.

Is there a lower "max" credit limit on the student than the regular? For example, will I only be able to get a CLI up to say.. 5k, and then all my requests will be denied? Does CIti upgrade the student card to a regular card when you graduate, or will it be a student card forever?

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
espnjunkie
Established Contributor

Re: Student Citi Forward vs Regular Citi Forward?

Go for the student version, it is easier to be approved for and basically the same card. You can probably product change after awhile.

“The real measure of your wealth is how much you’d be worth if you lost all your money.” ~Unknown
Citi Prestige World Elite Mastercard ($35,000.00), Merrill+ Visa Signature ($25,000.00), Amex BCP ($29,700.00), Amex Green (NPSL), Capital One Quicksilver World Mastercard ($10,000.00), Chase Ink Business Bold (NPSL)
TU-778 (12/03/2014))
EX (Plus) - 777 (10/21/2013)
EQ - 735 (April 2013)
Message 2 of 10
CardinalRules
New Contributor