Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Suggest a hotel, airlines or general travel CC

tag
bahbahd
Established Contributor

Suggest a hotel, airlines or general travel CC

I don't currently travel as much as I would like. Nearly no travel for work even though I am a consultant. I would like to get a travel rewards card to begin long term accruing of rewards to apply to leisure travel or a possible far-off honeymoon, etc. I've thought about getting the Citi AA card and the Amex SPG (if I can be approved.) I live near a major AA hub. Since my primary means to accrew points will be 2-3 grand a month in spend, would I be better off getting a general travel rewards card? Should I skip the whole AA FF and SPG programs all together? It would be quite nice to be in these programs upper tiers, but I don't think monthly spend alone is going to put me there. Can I please have thoughts and suggestions on travel CCs and programs I should focus on to maximize my benefits?  I've tried searching flyer talk, nerd wallet and other similar sites, but after months of general searching I feel like I am no where closer to having a solid understanding or general approach laid out.

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
sccredit
Valued Contributor

Re: Suggest a hotel, airlines or general travel CC

A lot of it depends on what your spend is (what categories you are spending on)

Message 2 of 8
bahbahd
Established Contributor

Well, of the 2-3 grand a month in spend above - mostly gas, groceries, restaurants, utilities/bills, apparel, furniture, etc. 

Message 3 of 8
takeshi74
Senior Contributor

@bahbahd wrote:

Since my primary means to accrew points will be 2-3 grand a month in spend, would I be better off getting a general travel rewards card?

Your call to make based on your projected spend and your priorities and preference.  I'd go for something like the CSP (but I already have one).

@bahbahd wrote: