Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Switching Citi Credit Cards

tag
joeyv1985
Frequent Contributor

Switching Citi Credit Cards

All, 

Sorry if this has been asked. I opened a Citi AAD about a year ago, spent the necessary amount to get the SUB. I'm thinking of swapping my  Citi AAD for a Citi Premier because the latter just offers more. The questions that I have are: Will Citi allow me to swap my AAD for a CP? Will they do a hard pull? What happens to the miles I got from the AAD SUB? I've never done anything like this before so your input would be appreciated. Also, I have a CSP, so I'm trying to get something more like that card. 

Message 1 of 16
15 REPLIES 15
FinStar
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Switching Citi Credit Cards

You can reach out to Citi and see whether the Citi AAdvantage is eligible for the Citi TY Premier PC.  If so, there's no HP and they'll read a disclosure as confirmation of the change.  The conversion "grace" period can typically take ~45 days in the event you change your mind.  But, your account is typically switched right away and you'll get a new card in 7-10 days.

As far as the AAdvantage miles go, those pretty much stay in your AAdvantage account.  Be sure to read the T&C since those miles can have an expiration timeframe unless your AAdvantage account has some activity.

Message 2 of 16
joeyv1985
Frequent Contributor

@FinStar wrote:

You can reach out to Citi and see whether the Citi AAdvantage is eligible for the Citi TY Premier PC.  If so, there's no HP and they'll read a disclosure as confirmation of the change.  The conversion "grace" period can typically take ~45 days in the event you change your mind.  But, your account is typically switched right away and you'll get a new card in 7-10 days.

As far as the AAdvantage miles go, those pretty much stay in your AAdvantage account.  Be sure to read the T&C since those miles can have an expiration timeframe unless your AAdvantage account has some activity.