Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The exact moment of the start and stop of the interest accrual

tag
Paranoid
Contributor

The exact moment of the start and stop of the interest accrual

I have a question. I have been using credit cards for more than three years, and always paid in full the balance of the statement, never paying interest. I wanted to figure out what would happen if I did not pay the full balance of the statement by the due date.

If I’ve always paid earlier and had grace period active, at some point I don’t pay the last bill in full by the due date, from what exact moment does the interest begin to accrue? From that exact payment due date? Or from the first day of the current billing cycle?

And the second question - having lost the grace period, and having a situation with interest accrual. What is the necessary condition for interest to cease to accrue? If at some point I pay the last bill in full before the due date, from that exact moment when CCC receives the payment, the interest ceases to accrue?

BoA CR (2), CITI DC, Chase FF, AmEx BCE, Disc It, UMB SR, USB C+, CO WMT, Synch TJX, TD TGT, CITI CC, Elan MCP, Synch PPMC, Synch PPC
Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
Aim_High
Super Contributor

Re: The exact moment of the start and stop of the interest accrual

@Paranoid wrote:

I have a question. I have been using credit cards for more than three years, and always paid in full the balance of the statement, never paying interest. I wanted to figure out what would happen if I did not pay the full balance of the statement by the due date.

If I’ve always paid earlier and had grace period active, at some point I don’t pay the last bill in full by the due date, from what exact moment does the interest begin to accrue? From that exact payment due date? Or from the first day of the current billing cycle?