Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Thin File (1 year) looking for third rewards card

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thin File (1 year) looking for third rewards card

Hello (and thank you for taking the time to read an apply to this),

I am a 23 year old teacher with no debt, but a thin file. I have two cards: Discover It ($6,200 started in June 2018) and Fidelity Visa ($5,000 started in April 2019). I am looking to get my third card either after my statemnets cut in July or August. My utilization is 1%, I always pay them in full and multiple times each month. My Discover Transunion is 730, Discover Experian 715. The most hard inquires on any report in last 12 months is two. I wanted to get one of these three cards next (listed in order of preference): Chase Freedom, Wells Fargo Propel, and Chase Amazon. I want to have all three by this time next year. However, I really want the Freedom and Propel the most. Does anyone have any insight on my chances for the Propel? I have a stong feeling I would get approved for Freedom, but would be curious to know what my starting credit line would be? Because I really would like a starting limit that is at least 4k, with the chance of an auto cli later on to take it over 5k. As I am a teacher and my income is 61k a year. Thanks for the insight!

Message 1 of 15
14 REPLIES 14
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Thin File (1 year) looking for third rewards card

@Anonymous wrote:

I wanted to get one of these three cards next (listed in order of preference):

Chase Freedom,

Chase Amazon.

Chase in general wants to see 1 year of activity, which from your post looks like you're on the cusp of with Disco

I would go for both of the Chase cards as priority #1 because of the 5/24 rule that excludes you from applying if you add 5 cards (primary/AU) in the prior 24 months.  Including these 2 you would be at 4/24 already.  Also, Chase will most likely be a double pull of EQ/EX.

Wells Fargo Propel,