cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Thoughts on "next-gen" fintech company cards for my first card (international student)?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thoughts on "next-gen" fintech company cards for my first card (international student)?

Hey everyone! 

I've been lurking for a while, but this is my first forum thread post! I am an international college student, and I will be sponsored to work in the US when I graduate. I've never had a credit card, and I've heard you pretty much need to build credit early to live in the US. I know its harder for international students to be approved for credit cards and I've done some research on some newer fintech companies such as TomoCredit , and Petal that seem to approve international students with no credit history. I know Capital One also has a history of approving international students. Does anyone have experience with these companies? 

Thank you so much! 

Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Thoughts on "next-gen" fintech company cards for my first card (international student)

@Anonymous wrote:

Hey everyone! 

I've been lurking for a while, but this is my first forum thread post! I am an international college student, and I will be sponsored to work in the US when I graduate. I've never had a credit card, and I've heard you pretty much need to build credit early to live in the US. I know its harder for international students to be approved for credit cards and I've done some research on some newer fintech companies such as TomoCredit , and Petal that seem to approve international students with no credit history. I know Capital One also has a history of approving international students. Does anyone have experience with these companies? 

Thank you so much! 

IMHO neither credit cards nor fintechs should be very high on your priority list as a college student.

Does "will be sponsored to work in the US when I graduate" mean a written offer that can never be rescinded?