Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

To get or not to get?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

To get or not to get?

Hey guys,

First of all, I’m so glad I found this forum - so much information, everyone seems so nice and helpful. Truly awesome community. I’m fairly new to credit world and also still confused. Any input is greatly appreciated and I thank you for your time.

I had no credit history 2 years ago. I got co-sign on new car lease in June, 2018. And I applied for a Capitol One credit card in June, 2019. These are my numbers as of today:

Fico score 739

Equifax 744

Transunion 744

Total accounts 2: 1 auto loan ( $4402 left out of $13,208) 1 credit card( SL $1250)

Revolving util. 0%

Missed payments 0

Inquiries 0-1

No collections, etc.

So as I understand I have a thin file. Do you guys think I should apply for more credit cards? If so, could you recommend any considering my scores? Is there anything else I could do to increase my score?

Thank you so much!

18 REPLIES 18
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: To get or not to get?

I'd definitely recommend you adding some revolving tradelines (credit cards) to your profile. Your scores seems to be in decent shape, so my suggestion is to search "pre approval links" and try some of those to see what pre approvals you'll get. Of course the most common around these parts are Capital One, Discover, BOA, etc. Open Sky is a secured card with no credit check, so that's a guaranteed tradeline but it won't grow. Definitely get you a credit card or two and use it responsibility!

Best of luck to you!

Message 2 of 19
coldfusion
Community Leader
Mega Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

Hey guys,

First of all, I’m so glad I found this forum - so much information, everyone seems so nice and helpful. Truly awesome community. I’m fairly new to credit world and also still confused. Any input is greatly appreciated and I thank you for your time.