Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Too many cards

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Too many cards

1 Amex, 1 Master, no gas or store cards.

Have to do plenty of other work  than checking cc statements  Smiley Happy

Message Edited by Buckzball on 05-18-2009 05:42 AM
Message 21 of 31
Anonymous
Not applicable

@smallfry wrote:

@clocktick wrote:

@Anonymous wrote:
 Gas and Store add nothing to you "mix" of credit. 

This is the exact opposite of what I've been reading on here the last few months.  Anyone else care to chime in on this one?

Having at least 1 store card or gas card helps the mix a little.

Okay small - I'm not arguing at all.  I am a data analyst by profession, and so I like data Smiley Happy  How does a store and gas card help the "mix."  Please, somebody, explain how having a gas and store card helps FICO or credit in general?  If you were to have a Visa or MC in lieu of the store or gas, this is just as much mix and MORE helpful in general terms of useability and for LO review.

What I am trying to help people understand is this:  Store cards and gas cards do NOT help your score in any way, except that they count as revolving TL's and CL's.  However, if you could have a major in their place, this would actually be more useful in all terms, practical use and credit/FICO.

Scoring looks at "premium" and "bankcards" for the revolving mix.  It does not consider or give any "extra" consideration to a store or gas card.

My only point was that if you have the option of limiting your application to a few, and can get all major cards vs. a major, store and gas.....I would have all major cards.

Message 22 of 31
haulingthescoreup
Moderator Emerita
Moved:

love2bamom's post has been moved to begin a new thread over on Understanding FICO Scoring titled Cards are paid, why are my scores so low?

Message 23 of 31
haulingthescoreup
Moderator Emerita