Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Travel cards

tag
Creditisstupid
Established Member

Travel cards

Hello,

I'm fairly new to rewards cards in general and travel cards specifically but am looking to apply for one within the next six months to start earning points for a family trip in the next year or two. We haven't typically traveled much but want to start doing yearly vacations, sometimes with flights sometimes not, but don't know much about whether travel cards would even be worthwhile for us. The points systems are a foreign currency to me.

I recently was approved for the Amex Hilton Honors with a 10K starting line. I applied for it because the welcome bonus will be enough to cover a two night stay for a trip to Chicago we're planning later this summer. So we do have that. I've been looking into the Amex Gold card, and found an offer for a 75k point sign up bonus, but am a bit daunted by the $250 annual fee and can't decide if it's worth it. I'm torn between that one and the Everyday Preferred, as more of a way to ease in to points, though that has a much lower sign up bonus. I've read a lot and watched some videos on the gold card, but am still hesitant whether it's worth it for us. Any experiences or thoughts? I like Amex so far and am building credit with them quickly. I started with the BCE in December with a 1K limit, and it's now at 3K, and they approved the Hilton at a much higher limit. Again I'm just really overwhelmed by the points and how they translate to domestic travel. My scores are good, with 746 Experian, 791 Equifax, and 750 Transunion, and my reports are clean.