cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trying to aquire new cards.

tag
Mrvlhro

Trying to aquire new cards.

Hi everyone, I just signed up to this board. I have made use of some info thus far (thank you). I just applied for the Costco rewards Amex card and am awaiting a response. I currently have 2 secured cards and I have been paying them on time for the past two years with no lates and always pay down my balance at the end of the month. I had an installment loan (student loan) that I just paid off completely. I had that for about a year and had no lates on that either. I aquired a bunch of inquiries this year due to obtaining a mortgage. I about 8-10 inquiries. I also applied for a secured card and got approved but it's only a $300 limit. So that's two cards that I recently applied for. If I don't get approved for the Amex costco card, would it be stupid to apply for a third card? Maybe not Amex but more like a capital one no hassle rewards card of something? I'm really trying to get at least 2 unsecured cards and start building on my credit even more. Thanks for any replies!! Oo ad my FICO is about 641, I know it sucks lol but 2 years ago it was 537!
Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
n777ua
Established Contributor

Re: Trying to aquire new cards.

Was your mortgage approved ? 

About $215,000 total credit among 11 cards
Message 2 of 12
Mrvlhro

Yes, the mortgage was approved but my broker shopped around for my loan so I got 5 mortgage inquries on my report from May through July. The mortgage isn't showing on my report yet because they said it takes 60 days after my first payment is made for it to start showing on my credit reports.
Message 3 of 12
Wolf3
Senior Contributor

who are the secured cards with and what are the limits?

Message 4 of 12
Mrvlhro

Applied bank $300 limit, Orchard Bank $200 limit.
Message 5 of 12
Wolf3
Senior Contributor