Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

US Bank Credit Card...

tag
mataspeed
Established Member

US Bank Credit Card...

Hello, this is my first time posting here I've been lurking here for awhile. My situation is that I currently have two credit cards with BoA, a student visa platinum card with 1000 (19% interest) limit given to me before I even had a job when I was 18, and another BoA (12% interest) World points ( card given to me a year later with 1200 limit.

I'm 19 now and I've been using my world points for every purchases I make since for a year now, since I rarely keep cash on me and I PIF every month, no lates. For some reason ever since I started using my credit card to make all my purchases I've receive several credit card offers, it started off one or two credit card offers a week and to several offers sent to me per day haha.

Anyways to the point, one caught my eye the US bank rewards visa platinum with double the rewards points for a year and %9.99 fixed interest. Now the thing that usually drops my credit score down is my utilization rate because my total revolving credit is 2200 and even though I PIF each month it still shows that I have a balance on my credit report sometimes because I use about 300-400ish of credit per month and they report that amount and my ratio jumps to using 18% of my credit which lowers my score.

So should I apply for a new credit card to have a higher revolving credit so my utilization ratio won't be so high even though I use so little? I would need about 5000 revolving credit to keep my ratio below 10% and not have my score drop every time the reporting agency reports me with a balance right?