Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Utilization rates and maximizing large spends

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Utilization rates and maximizing large spends

Hey all!

I'm new to the world of credit, but wanted to seek some advice regarding an upcoming large spend period.

My FICO score is around 650. I'm a recently out of college, had a single credit card I haven't utilized in years (but which contributed to an account age of 7 years). Income is around 100k, no outstanding debt.

I am newly engaged and have a large amount of spend in the next year or so as a result of wedding expenses. Before I educated myself, I attempted to sign up for the barclays uber card and was denied.

Realizing my mistake, I did some research, found my actual score and recalibrated the class of cards I was looking for. I used Cap1's preapprove program and got into quicksilver at 2k CL and a 150$ sub for 500 spend.

If I want to maximize my upcoming spend, does it make sense to apply for products with a better sub program in the coming months? I've read that keeping utilization low is important to building credit, if I want to use my Cap1 card for some larger wedding expenses, can I pay it off before the month ends in order to keep reported utilization low? The card will be PIF regardless.

Really appreciate any help, still getting oriented with the game.

17 REPLIES 17
NRB525
Super Contributor

Re: Utilization rates and maximizing large spends

Yes, you can pay off charges on any credit card after they move from Pending to Posted. With Capital One they are as good as any for getting the payments cleared. 

Yes, targeting to get your balance lowered in the days before your statement is processed is a good way to manage reported utilization.