tinuviel
Moderator Emeritus

Re: WILL DISCOVER TURN ME DOWN IF.....

@MountainHiker wrote:

@tinuviel wrote:

@tennisfan78 wrote:

@MountainHiker wrote:

@MovingForward_2012 wrote:
I'm new to stuff like this. What is the risk of paying the collection before it falls off?

It could stay on your credit report longer.

Once it falls of the credit report, and the collection agency still keeps bugging you, and if it is settled and paid, will it make its way back on to the credit report?  I sure hope not.

Once it's aged off of your reports it will remain off, even if the CA continues to hound you. The CRAs must abide by the credit reporting time frame (CRTF), which mandates that CO/CAs age off once they have reached 7-1/2 years from the DOFD, as discussed in my previous post.

I agree that once a old debt has aged off a credit reporting bureau the debtor has no legal (maybe a moral)responsibility to repay it but, if the statute of limitations has not run out and the same or a new collection company gets you to agree verbally or in writing to pay that debt you are legally then responsible for a re-aged debt.It can restart the clock on that debt.Maybe up to 7-1/2 years.Every state has it's owe statutes on the rules of repayment of debt which is really important to remember.

Yes, that's true. But, you're referring to the statute of limitations (SOL) for repaying a debt, which is a different thing from the CRTP (credit reporting time period; same thing as CRTF, but after I went back and looked at this post I remembered that CRTP is the more common term/abbreviation used on this forum). So, if you pay or agree to pay anything on an old debt, you can be legally liable to repay. But, the amount of time that it stays on your reports is still tied to the DOFD. Totally different issue.

Current Scores: EQ 775 (03/04/2014), EX 756 (03/01/2014), TU 760 (03/01/2014)
Ruby Spade Garden Club Member - Last App: 03/04/2013 - No apps until 2014