Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Walmart Card or Target Card

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Walmart Card or Target Card

Which one do you think I should get? Personally, I prefer Target as a store and I do like the idea of 5% off. However, I heard that the walmart card is easier to get, and  I do go to walmart pretty often. So I'm tied in between the two. I heard that the Target Card was a little hard to get (I'm pretty new to credit), so I'm really thinking about Walmart. I want a store card to help build credit (along with my cap1). What are your thoughts? Smiley Happy

Message 1 of 19
18 REPLIES 18
Creditaddict
Legendary Contributor

Re: Walmart Card or Target Card

I think Target is very easy to get, but you might end up with $200 that doesn't really grow usually.

Walmart is also pretty easy and may start low but you can usually get about $125 CLI every 4 statements.

Target you have to apply in store, Walmart you can do online.

Message 2 of 19
JayRizzo
Established Contributor

Things to consider:

1.  Acquiring more credit cards doesn't necessarily increase your credit score (discussion re: utilization)

2.  Only apply for store cards that you frequent (seems you've done your homework already -- very good)

3.  Be aware of the interest rates charged for store cards which are higher than traditional major credit cards

4.  I believe WalMart is easier  Smiley Happy

5.  But, Target gives you 5% discount on all purchases  Smiley Happy

6.  Walmart (GEMB) is generous with Credit Limit Increases every 4 months... Target stated it is not giving CLIs at this time (past year or so)

7.  Both will give you low-limit cards if you're building/re-building