Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Walmart Credit Card. =(

tag
Raiders1
Valued Member

Walmart Credit Card. =(

So I've been fixing my credit for the last two months and I decided I needed a new credit card to continue to build credit. I finally decided to apply for the Walmart credit card, mostly because I read that it's easier to get approved and because they give you your TU FICO monthly. I was hoping to get the Walmart Discover with at least $1K CL. I now feel insulted because they instantly approved me for the WM Card (not Discover) with $150 CL. Really $150? They should have just denied me.

I currently have a Cap1 Secured with $500 CL, one WFargo card that was closed four years ago PIF and no lates. My baddies are 2 Collections w/ $700 total, and a 5 year old paid charge off on an auto loan.

I feel like calling them and telling them to not even send me the card and closing the account. Should I? Or do I keep it and hope they increase my CL?

Starting Scores:
EQ FICO 648 - TU08 598 - EX FAKO 544 (1/2012)
Current Scores: EQ 703 - TU 767 - EX 750
In My Wallet: AMEX BCE ($22.5K), Discover It ($10K), USAA World MC ($9K), Chase Freedom ($8K), Fidelity Rewards ($5K), Citi Double Cash ($4.5K) Walmart ($4.5K),
Message 1 of 16
15 REPLIES 15
ficojoe
Frequent Contributor

Re: Walmart Credit Card. =(

I got the same deal. Two revolving account for $7500 elsewhere, but walmart gives me $150. 

From what I hear, that $150 card can before a $20,000 card. I am told to request a CLI after every 4th statement has been paid.

Unfcortunately, the wal-mart store card never "graduates" into a discover. Apparently you may eventually recieve a discover offer or you may reapply if you want to switch. But then you have to open a new account and close the other one.

Message 2 of 16
mikka1
Frequent Contributor

No, don't close the account and don't decline the offer!

This card (probably, similar to all other GE-backed cards) has a tremendous growth potential!