Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Want to Close my Capital One Card

tag
CA4Closure
Regular Contributor

Want to Close my Capital One Card

I have a Capital One Mastercard I want to close. However, it is my oldest account at 18+ years. If I close this account, my AAoA will go way down and affect my credit scores.
The reason I want to close this account due to the Annual Fee ($60) and low credit line.

I want to get a credit card with better rewards. What are my options?

Message 1 of 20
19 REPLIES 19
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Want to Close my Capital One Card

@CA4Closure wrote:

I have a Capital One Mastercard I want to close. However, it is my oldest account at 18+ years. If I close this account, my AAoA will go way down and affect my credit scores.
The reason I want to close this account due to the Annual Fee ($60) and low credit line.

When my secure card graduated, i sent an email to the Cap1 EO email (i googled it) and asked to be changed to a Quicksilver that has no AF.  I got a call a few days later and they were more than happy to do it.   Other than that, you could call and ask, as you've had the acct a long time so they maybe willing to change it over the phone. 

As for the limit, you can try that as well, but with no AF and throw a $5 charge at it once every 6 months and you'd be golden

Message 2 of 20
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous wrote:

@CA4Closure wrote:

When my secure card graduated, i sent an email to the Cap1 EO email (i googled it) and asked to be changed to a Quicksilver that has no AF.  I got a call a few days later and they were more than happy to do it.   Other than that, you could call and ask, as you've had the acct a long time so they maybe willing to change it over the phone. 

As for the limit, you can try that as well, but with no AF and throw a $5 charge at it once every 6 months and you'd be golden