Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What credit cards will you NOT carry?

tag
CreditDrama85
Established Contributor

What credit cards will you NOT carry?

ive been managing my credit for 6 years. and in that time, i have learned there are cards that simply do not work for me and i will therefore never carry them again. are these cards/banks on anyone else's sh*t list?

cards i will NEVER carry:

-AMEX
-CHASE
-HSBC

cards i will continue to carry or obtain:

-Capital One
-Wells Fargo
-Discover
-US Bank
-Citi
-Fifth Third Bk

does anyone else feel this way?

Message Edited by CreditDrama85 on 09-21-2008 10:52 AM
Message 1 of 45
44 REPLIES 44
GFer
Valued Contributor

Re: What credit cards will you NOT carry?

Can I ask why you would not carry them?

EQ 817, EX 815, TU 813 (Updated 1/5/18: TU 843

Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge
Message 2 of 45
MidnightVoice
Super Contributor

I don't carry my Chase and Amex, but I do use them.

Chase - has some monthly payments and is my daughter's "emergency card".  So I just PIF it every month.

Amex - I am building for the future when I have to pay for my own travel.  It pays utilities. and if I go on vacation of buy a big item I use it (and let them know I am spending out of pattern).

I carry my gas card and my CU (low interest) card, and use my gas card almost exclusively (cheap gas!)
The slide from grace is really more like gliding
And I've found the trick is not to stop the sliding
But to find a graceful way of staying slid
Message 3 of 45
CreditDrama85
Established Contributor

AMEX: i think you can find the reason for not carrying amex on the forums. they closed all 3 of my amex accounts and demanded payment on revolving accounts due to change in my cb report. accounts were "closed by consumer. paid account/was a charge-off."