Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What's With Amex Gold & Platinum?

tag
kshurika
Frequent Contributor

What's With Amex Gold & Platinum?

Amex is banging on my head about these two cards. Mail, email, CSR's; they're all going at me. I won't go into the benefits of each card, or compare them. From what I can see, Platinum is a burn unless you travel a lot. I've got CSP for that and it's 95$/ vs. Platinum's 550$. The real sucker trap IMHO is that Platinum gives you 20% more sign-up points for 250% increase in initial spend.

Never been a big fan of charge cards. Can they boost your credit rating? (I KNOW they can crush it if you don't pay on time.) Do they drop your AAoA? Am I overlooking something? Convince me. I'm an attentive student.

Thanks.
Message 1 of 28
27 REPLIES 27
KJinNC
Valued Contributor

Re: What's With Amex Gold & Platinum?

Charge cards are accounts and can, over time, help credit as they age, but they are calculated differently from revolving accounts. Most would say they don't help as much as revolvers. In the short term, like any new account, it would probably hurt.

Aside from that, the factors to consider IMO are:

1 - The annual fee

2 - The statement credits that you would be able to recoup without distorting your spending patterns too much

3 - The sign-up bonus (including whether you think you can manage the spend in the number of months)

4 - Rewards

5 - The perks (Platinum, in particular, has a long list)

The sign-up bonuses are generally pretty valuable, considering that a lot of people consider the points to be worth two cents each, though the value varies based on how you use them. With Platinum, the perks are pretty major, but the statement credits would be difficult for me to take full advantage of.

It's horses for courses ... if either fits your spend and lifestyle, and you can take the hit for opening a new account, go for it ... if not, don't. Good luck!