Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What should my next move be?

tag
WallyxD
Frequent Contributor

What should my next move be?

Hi guys, at the end of September, I was approved for an American Eagle retail card, not the VISA, but the strictly AE card. I was given a limit of only $175. (I had no credit history other than student loans from this year and last).

I've PIF since I've gotten my retail card and called about a CLI, but I have to wait about three more weeks before I can request for a CLI. I want to go for a regular card now, but I don't know if applying for two forms of credit in the matter of 2.5 months is too much or not.

Should I wait a little longer before applying for another card? Which cards would you recommended I apply for? Regular bank card or credit union? (Again, I'm a full time student so I only work part time making about 8k a year).

FAKO Scores are 666 TU and 710 EX.

AE CC: $1,050 | AEO Visa: $1,890 | Cap1 QS: $2,100 | Chase Freedom: $1,000 | Citi Forward: $1,500 | Citi Double Cash: $1,000 | Discover iT: $500 | GameStop: $1,650 | Overstock: $1,700 | PayPal Smart Connect: $1,500 | Walmart $2,200

TU (Discover): 663 | EQ (Citi): 651
Message 1 of 13
12 REPLIES 12
Involus
Regular Contributor

Re: What should my next move be?

Most 'prime' cards like to see 6 months history at minimum - and they like to see actual credit cards not store cards I've read that some don't even factor store cards but YMMV.

Message 2 of 13
WallyxD
Frequent Contributor

By 'prime' you mean Discover, Chase, Citi, etc.? And wouldn't my history, though short, be more important to them than the store card lol. Would you not even recommend I apply for a student card.?
AE CC: $1,050 | AEO Visa: $1,890 | Cap1 QS: $2,100 | Chase Freedom: $1,000 | Citi Forward: $1,500 | Citi Double Cash: $1,000 | Discover iT: $500 | GameStop: $1,650 | Overstock: $1,700 | PayPal Smart Connect: $1,500 | Walmart $2,200

Message 3 of 13
Repo-ed
Senior Contributor