Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What to do next?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

What to do next?

Hi all,

I am new to the credit card world other than a discover it I got back in 2017 as a freshman in college. I have applied and received 5 cards intersperced since then, and built up a good little TCL (total credit limit) around almost 30k at 22 years old. My most recent card I received was a full month ago as of yesterday, so what do you think would be the next best thing to do to build up my credit score? I am currently sitting at EXP: 732 EQ: 745 TR: 739 as fico score 8's. Thanks! (all my cards I have are in my siggy)

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: What to do next?

You’re off to a terrific start with some great cards. Next step?

Nothing.

Don’t apply for the next 12 months. Just tend to your accounts, pay your bills, keep utilization low, and let your reports age. You have a very young average account age. Let it marinate for a year, work on SP CLIs with Amex, Disco, and CapOne. One key to credit building is to not apply just because it’s been a couple months since you applied. App for credit when it’s needed.

You’re doing everything right - just keep it up and you’ll be all but bulletproof. And now, while you don’t have a mortgage or car payment that you’ve mentioned, is a great time to start socking money away into an emergency fund. Congrats on starting so strongly!
Message 2 of 7
CreditInspired
Community Leader
Super Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

Hi all,