Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What triggers an Amex FR?

tag
ObeyJohnny12
Established Contributor

What triggers an Amex FR?

Hello everybody.

I just wanted to know what makes Amex FR you. What do they ask from you? Does every Amex card holder go through in or can you prevent it? Since I'm new to Amex i just want a heads up if it happens to me.

Thanks!
Wells Fargo Secured - 7k
Opensky - 5k
Rebuilding One Day At A Time.
Message 1 of 14
13 REPLIES 13
patsfan1453
Regular Contributor

Re: What triggers an Amex FR?

They have their own formula for discerning between high risk individuals, just be responsible and honest and you won't have a problem.

Amex Everyday 6k || Chase Sapphire 5k || Buypower Card 5k || USAA Wounded Warrior Mastercard 4k || Citi TYP 4.9k|| Citi Forward 5.5k || Discover It 2k || Chase Freedom 5.5k || Walmart 1k || Chase Amazon 1k
Business: Chase ink cash 5k || AMEX Simply Cash 3.8k
Total CLs: 48.7k
Message 2 of 14
sakhalin070
Frequent Contributor

Also, don't play with the "Check Your Spending Ability" too much (or put an exorbitant amount).

AMEX BCE, Discover IT, Citi Forward, BoA Travel Rewards, Barclaycard Cash Forward
Message 3 of 14
Involus
Regular Contributor

@sakhalin070 Oops... I played with it one day. Put in $1000 - Approved and increased it buy $1000 until it denied me and said 'you can no longer make this request online - please call ######### to make this request'....on the day I activated my card. ;o

Message 4 of 14
chnceit
Valued Contributor

IMO debt pyramiding and asking way to much from AMEX

Last Pulled EQ: 809
Last Credit Card App: 02/05/2016
Last CLI: 02/06/2016
Find Me: Gardening
Message 5 of 14
distantarray
Established Contributor

requesting a CLI of 25k+

total credit limits $108,400 Credit scores Ex 728 EQ 738 TU 758
Message 6 of 14
llecs
Moderator Emeritus

My one and only FR was triggered by a failed purchase attempt at a law office, or so said the Amex CSR.

Message 7 of 14
distantarray
Established Contributor