Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

When is too much.....too much?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

When is too much.....too much?

I have a quick question: What are the most CCs you have applied for in a year? 

**I do need some advice though. I applied and was approved for a GE Money Bank (Art Van) card to put some furniture on LAST DECEMBER. I only have $67 to pay off. Smiley Happy Next I applied and was approved for Bank Of America Cash Rewards card in May. Just last week I opened a new high tiered interest checking account which I believe pulled something. Not sure though. I want to apply for a Chase Freedom Visa so I can do away with the lackluster Bank of America Visa but I don't wanna apply to too many things too quick and do damage to my credit report. I am still kind of new to all this guys.**

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
HoldingOntoHope
Valued Contributor

Re: When is too much....Too much?

Too much is when you start receiving denials for "Too many recent inquiries" or "Too many new accounts". But other than that it's strictly a personal decision. We have members who have inquiries counted in the 20's, 30's and higher. And others with none for multiples of years. I currently have 7 on EQ within the last 2 years (only 2 less than a year old) but that was from a mortgage and a USAA credit card in the last year, and a move to a few prime lines the year before.

If you have a plan for your credit future it seems to work out better than just applying for cards and then closing them shortly afterward because you are disappointed with the card or the company. If you read and research I don't believe there is a card available in the U.S. that hasn't been discussed at some point in these forums. And I personally think that that sharing of info and opinions is invaluable for future decisions.

Best financial advice I ever got: "Just imagine what an adult would do and do that."

Starting Score: 500's