Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Where to Go from Here

tag
CivalV
Established Contributor

Re: Where to Go from Here

Im no expert BUT when I applied for Amex Delta they denied me and pulled my EX report. You only get an SP if you are already an Amex member, no?
Message 11 of 16
Anonymous
Not applicable

It's important to get the existing debt taken care of. Even if you only have $500 combined debt on the cards and a good APR of 15%, you are still just giving away a little over $5 a month in interest. It's not a ton, but why give away money when you don't have to?

It sounds like you are doing this already, but look at your finances and see if there's anywhere that you can save a few bucks to go towards paying things down. That would be my first move. You said you have made progress on that,and that is fantastic! Keep at it!

If you are looking at getting another card, I would first look at what I normally spend in a month, and use that as a guide for which cards fit my need. For some of us it would be groceries, for others it may be fuel, or it could be travel. Find what's best for you and make a plan to get there. That will be way better in the long run than choosing a card based on what I may think is good.

If that is the route you are taking, my next move would be to see if any of those cards have a 0% purchase/balance transfer APR for X months intro offer, and ideally a $X statement credit offer.  As I said before $5 a month isn't much, but it can be $5 more towards paying things down rather than going out of your pocket.

Message 12 of 16
Anonymous
Not applicable