cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Which major instution I should bank with...

tag
bribro
Valued Contributor

Re: Which major instution I should bank with...

@HiLine wrote:

@bribro wrote:

@HiLine wrote:

@bribro wrote:

@bluesnowman wrote:

I'm with BOFA and Chase. I have had excellent experiences with both of them, however BOFA has the better of the online accounts, while Chase has the better CC portfolio. I also have a ROTH IRA (I opened it a couple of days ago) with Fidelity, and their customer service is good so far. Did I mention Chase has been really generous to me CL wise, even though my income is rather low (I'm a student.) and I will utilize their cards as much as I can. Even Amex or Citi hasn't been as generous to me. 

I've heard this a few times. What makes BofA's online experience better?

The online banking function is extremely well-developed and provides easy access to all financial accounts you have with BofA. BofA banking accounts typically carry more perks than those at other banks: you get free access to select museums, no maintenance fee if you use ATM's for simple transactions, no limit on credit card payments, and access to online shopping and local deals. Having a BofA banking account also gives you more value from their credit card rewards, typically 10% of the regular reward earning rate. Other major banks have a long way to go to catch up with BofA's online banking system.

How is that any different from Chase though? You can see your entire JPMC relationship online or via mobile apps, and as I recall Chase invented mobile check deposit technology. Chase account holders also have free access to museums (at least in the Bay Area). There's no limit on credit card payments that I'm aware of. Similar fee structure to BofA for basic checking accounts. You get a 10% bonus on the Chase Freedom credit card.