cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Will I get approved for a Discover secured card?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Will I get approved for a Discover secured card?

Ok. So I have a rather unique situation I think. I am 20 years old and never had a credit card before until recently. My dad gave me authorized user on his mileage plus explorer card (chase-united) card with a 6000 dollar spend limit. And I finally got my transunion score of 706 it says I have bad credit and I have to improve it before I can get a card. My income is around 10k per year and I am not a student. I graduated from college with an associates in both business administration and accounting. I have 0 dollars in debt. And around 4000 in savings (I am a penny pincher.) I want a 200 dollar credit limit to start and to help me build my credit up. I can pay 250 in security for the 200 dollar limit since I know I can get it back as long as I pay everything on the card. Approval chances for the secured card? If not what card would you recommend? I don't want to apply for one unless I know I can get it since I understand it will ding you if you get denied. My goal is to get the same card as my dad just to be the full user on it. 

New to credit approval odds? 0 debt. 10k income 4k savings. 705 transunion. I want a 200 dollar limit. Willing to pay 250 in security for it.

7 REPLIES 7
EAJuggalo
Established Contributor

Re: Will I get approved for a Discover secured card?

You certainly should be approved for a discover secured.  Does your credit union offer a secured card?  Do you have a Bank of America branch near you?  I would take all three of those and be very careful.  Just as a reference point, I received a Discover it earlier this year with a score of 650, so whoever is telling you that a 706 is bad is full of it.  The only things really holding you back is your lack of credit use and your low income.

EX700 TU 704 EQ 694 4/03/22