cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Will I qualify for Chase Sapphire Preferred?

tag
sdmelzer
New Visitor

Will I qualify for Chase Sapphire Preferred?

Hello all, just a quick question about my qualifications.

I am currently a grad student in a program that does not allow work (part or full time) during the first year. Thus, I have no work income. I do have good credit history though. I currently hold 4 Visa credit cards, always paid off, no balances, with credit lines of approximately 2k each. 

I do also have a history with Chase, and have been a Freedom cardholder for about 2 years. It is my primary card, and it has a limit of 4k. What are the chances of Chase approving me for a Sapphire Preferred given that my income is mainly a mix of scholarship and government loan money until summer internships kick in?

Message 1 of 46
45 REPLIES 45
Creditaddict
Legendary Contributor

Re: Will I qualify for Chase Sapphire Preferred?

@sdmelzer wrote:

I am currently a grad student in a program that does not allow work (part or full time) during the first year. Thus, I have no work income. I do have good credit history though. I currently hold 4 Visa credit cards, always paid off, no balances, with credit lines of approximately 2k each. 

I do also have a history with Chase, and have been a Freedom cardholder for about 2 years. It is my primary card, and it has a limit of 4k. What are the chances of Chase approving me for a Sapphire Preferred given that my income is mainly a mix of scholarship and government loan money until summer internships kick in?

have you checked the chase pre-qual to see if anything is being offered to you?

Depending how they ask on the app and you answer the income thing I don't think you will have a problem from a credit and history stand point... your chase internal score is probably higher because of the history you have and paid off... Id just apply.

Message 2 of 46
newUser0
Established Contributor