Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Your Credit Card Evolution

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Your Credit Card Evolution

Hello, Everyone!

I am an 18-year-old student (long time lurker) and thanks to many of you I got my first credit card with no history whatsoever. I got the Discover IT Chrome for students in August 2015 and now am looking at adding some more cards. It's been 6 months and I have no baddies and my Discover FICO score with TU is 734. Credit Karma reports my FAKO scores at 672 and 696 for TU and EQ respectively. I have no loans and no other forms of credit other than my Discover card. I recently got a CLI to $750, but the CLI has yet to report. I thought I would have to settle with a secured card but ended up getting a Discover with great benefits! I love my Discover card but would like to continue to grow my credit history and get a little more variety. I eventually would like an AMEX, Chase Freedom, Citi DC and possibly QS and a few others, but those are my goals at the moment. To give a short summary of my situation: I have one account open with a $750 limit low util, only one inquiry on my TU score from Discover 6 months ago (approved), no baddies, I always pay on time. The only negatives are that I only have one account open and my AAOA is only 6 months. I would be reporting an income of around $12,000 if I can't include scholarships, stipend etc if that's included I'm around $38k.  My question is what is your personal credit card evolution from your first card to what you have now and maybe that'll offer some insight as to what I should do next. 

Message 1 of 15
14 REPLIES 14
Chris679
Established Contributor

Re: Your Credit Card Evolution

Don't apply for anything you don't want to keep long term. We see a lot of people applying for every store card under the sun then later they are closing them all. You can include any income that you have access to and I would build slowly, 1-2 accounts per year.
Message 2 of 15
Anonymous
Not applicable