Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

amex prequals suck!

tag
KJinNC
Valued Contributor

Re: amex prequals suck!

I am not an expert but I will recount my personal experience while it's fresh. Caveat, my profile is a bit unusual, as you can see in my signature.

I applied multiple times for the Gold Card, both via and not via the Corporate Advantage Program, got some rejections but eventually got a surprise approval. Used it heavily for several weeks, making multiple payments per week. My purchase power went from $2,500 to $20,000+ in three weeks. I got a Delta Gold prequalification. That's a card I really wanted for travel I am currently planning. Applied, got denied. Reconned, and got a letter saying they were sticking with the denial. Meantime, my Amex Gold crossed the 1-month threshold and I closed a couple of small secured cards. Mentioning because I can only speculate what changed in Amex's eyes, but the same day I received the recon rejection letter in the mail, I noticed that I was now "preapproved" (not prequalified) for all Amex credit cards. Nervously applied for the Delta Gold and was approved. Just today, I also applied for a Hilton card that showed preapproval, and was approved.

So, based on my limited experience that may not apply to other people or situations, I think Amex prequalifications are "for entertainment purposes only," but Amex preapprovals are solid. JMO, good luck!

FICO Resilience Index: 64. Cards: 5/24, 2/12, 2/6. Accounts including loans: 8/24, 4/12, 3/6. Card CLs total $213,900, or $240,400 including the AU card. Cards (oldest to newest)

Authorized user / Corporate / Auto loans / Personal loan
Message 21 of 32
Anonymous
Not applicable

Not sure why Equifax is being talked about in an Amex thread.

Amex pretty much exclusively cares about your Experian report.
Message 22 of 32
KJinNC
Valued Contributor

@Anonymous wrote: